skip to Main Content

Department of Industrial Pharmacy


The Department of Industrial Pharmacy was established in 1952. Driven by a mission to bolster the Pharmaceutical Industry in the Philippines, it aims to produce graduates who become competent, committed, and conscientious professionals cognizant of their important roles in the industry. Its grand vision is to be a distinctive teaching and research center for pharmaceutics and product development.

Over the years, the department has developed luminaries that set academic and research standards in Industrial Pharmacy. William D. Torres is among the Department’s most prominent members – a PhD holder in Biopharmaceutics who also previously served as a Director of the BFAD. He was joined by Dr. Natividad F. De Castro and Professor Leticia-Barbara B. Gutierrez, both of which hold the rank of Professor Emeritus.

The department also fosters academic professionals with diverse and relevant research interests. We have faculty with expertise in Process Validation, Product Lifecycle Management, Quality Risk Management, Cleaning Validation, Quality Assurance, Sterile and Non-sterile Manufacturing, Supply Chain Management, and Compliance/GMP Audit. Among our most notable lecturer-practitioners include Carlo L. Perete, Ma. Rosario B. Barangan, Julius Galo E. Leopando, Gilbert A. Vargas, and Antonio B. Regadio Jr.

The department expands its mission to bolster the Pharmaceutical industry by promoting research among its faculty and providing extension services to professionals. In the next 5 years, we will continue to provide short courses on Drug and Cosmetic Product Development, Pharmaceutical Manufacturing, Quality Control, Validation, and Quality Risk Management. We are developing the potentials of junior faculty members to pursue their PhD and specialize in various fields of pharmaceutics such as in Drug and Cosmetic Product Formulation, Biopharmaceutics, Pharmacokinetics, Validation, and Regulatory Science.

Faculty Members

Back To Top