

# UP COLLEGE OF PHARMACY ALUMNI ASSOCIATION (UPCPAA), INC.



### **OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS (2019 – 2021)**

President Executive Vice President Vice President for International Affairs Secretary Assistant Secretary Treasurer Assistant Treasurer Auditor Public Relations Officer Directors	Ma. Rosario B. Barangan BSIP 1985, MS (IP) 2005 Pura G. Averilla BSP 1981 Llody Boy L. Maliglig BSIP 1993 Geraldine A. Cuanzon BSIP 1992 Vivien De Vera-Morales BSIP 1993 Edwin C. Ruamero, Jr. BSIP 2009 Ihris Jay B. Terrado BSP 2014 Carlos M. Cammayo BSIP 1977 Francis Gerard R. Tañedo BSIP 1993
	Carmela D. Barcelona BSP 2002 Emeline S. Bautista BSIP 1987 Hazel Faye R. Docuyanan BSP 1991, MS (Hosp Pharm) 2005 Paul Marvin T. Quizon BSP 2005, MSP(IP) 2011 Anthony Aldrin C. Santiago BSP 1991 Bea Katrina N. To BSIP 2016
UP College DEANS	Dean Monet M. Loquias BSP 1994 Dean Imelda G. Peña BSIP 1984, MS (IP) 1994 Dean Jocelyn B. Palacpac BSIP 1988, MS (IP) 1997 Dean Yolanda R. Robles BSP 1984 Dean Leticia-Barbara B. Gutierrez BSP 1956 (mcl)
Alumni Relations Officer	Ethel Andrea C. Ladignon BSP 2009, MSP (IP) 2017



## SEC Registration and Incorporation as UP College of Pharmacy Alumni Association (UPCPAA), Inc.

The first step of the new board was to conduct a strategic planning for the years 2018-2020 at the Alabang Country Club on July 21, 2018. The board identified the need to convert the association into a legal entity to be crucial in realizing our main objectives of undertaking activities, projects and programs in support of the UP College of Pharmacy and of promoting the general welfare of the alumni. The revision of the current Constitution and By-laws of the association was discussed as an initial step in the registration

at the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). A final draft was approved by the board on January 19, 2019 and sent to Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Last March 29, 2019, the official Certificate of Incorporation as University of the Philippines College of Pharmacy Alumni Association (UPCPAA), Inc. was issued.

The process of getting the Barangay Clearance, Mayor's Permit, printing of the BIR official receipts followed soon after. Once all documents are obtained, a bank account at BDO PGH-Taft Avenue Branch will be opened under the name of UPCPAA, Inc.

This does not only mark the transition of the former UP Pharmacy Alumni Association to the UP College of Pharmacy Alumni Association, (UPCPAA) Inc. but also paves the way for a closer relationship among all of the alumni of the UP College of Pharmacy and generate greater support for the college.



July 21, 2019 Strategic Planning, Alabang Country Club, Alabang, Muntinlupa, January 19, 2019 Signing of Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Papers

#### ARTICLE III. PREAMBLE

"We, the alumni of the University of the Philippines College of Pharmacy, unite ourselves to support our alma mater to accomplish the purposes for which it has been established, and to establish cooperation and closer relationships among its members and community, do hereby constitute ourselves into the University of the Philippines College of Pharmacy Alumni Association, Inc. (UPCPAA)."

#### Support to UPMAA and UPAA Activities

The Board supported the projects and programs of UP Manila Alumni Association (UPMAA) and UP Alumni Association (UPAA) including homecomings and general assembly, fund-raising events and call for nomination for annual awards. Our very own Secretary, Ms. Geraldine A. Cuanzon BSIP 1992, was elected as the UPMAA Vice President for 2018 – 2020. While our alumna HON. MILDRED BALBIN-OLIVEROS, Ph. D. was awarded the UPMAA 2018 Distinguished Alumni. Members of the Board joined UP Manila Chancellor Carmencita D. Padilla MD, MAHPS, to represent the college at the UP General Alumni Homecoming last August 18, 2018 at UP Bahay ng Alumni, Diliman.



Ms. Geraldine A. Cuanzon BSIP 1992, UPMAA Vice President for 2018–2020. HON. MILDRED BALBIN-OLIVEROS, Ph. D. UPMAA 2018 Distinguished Alumni Awardee representing UP College of Pharmacy Alumni Association. UPAA 2018 Alumni Homecoming and General Assembly with UP Manila Chancellor Carmencita D. Padilla.

#### **Fundraising Activities**

To sustain the UPPhAA operations and support the various activities of the College a fundraising activity was organized. A sold out Movie Block Screening of Captain Marvel was held on March 9, 2019, at SM Megamall. It also became an opportune time to reminisce and reacquaint with classmates, friends and teachers. It was very heart-warming to see alumni with their whole family enjoying the movie together.



#### Support the College and Foster Closer Relationship with Alumni

Yearly Alumni Homecomings are held to bring together alumni, professors and staff and give recognition to our distinguished alumni, former Dean and generous donors. This is also a time to show solidarity and support to the college.

The 2018 Alumni Homecoming was held last June 16, 2018 at the Emilio Yap Auditorium, UP College of Pharmacy. More than 130 alumni filled the newly renovated Auditorium.

Mr. Paul Marvin Quizon, the President of both the UP Pharmacy Alumni Association and the UP Pharmacy Alumni Foundation, Inc., presented updates on the legal documents of the Foundation and defined the delineation of the activities, membership and leadership of the Association and the Foundation. He also enumerated the accomplishments, including the support provided to the students and faculty members. Mr. Bienvenido Balotro, the Treasurer, gave the financial report including the new accounts under the name of the Foundation at BDO-PGH-Taft Avenue Branch.

The state of the college was presented by Dean Monet M. Loquias together with the well-received presentation by Asst. Prof. Margarita M. Gutierrez whose Pharmacy Management 2018 Batch Pharmapreneur Project was able to generate and donate P 180,000.00. A portrait of former Dean Imelda Pena, a gift by the UPPAA, was unveiled. This will be displayed at the College gallery of Deans.

Families and friends were on hand for the awarding of this year's distinguished alumni. Mildred Balbin-Oliveros, BSP 1963, PhD 1977 and Reynaldo Maxlito H. Umali, BSIP 1969 were awarded Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Awards. Distinguished Alumni, Roderick L. Salenga, BSP 2004 (Public Health), Irene Florentino-Farinas, BSP 1992 (Government) Alice P. Catabay, BSP 1983 (Education), Gilbert A. Vargas, BSIP 1978 (Industrial Pharmacy), Cynthia B. Urgel, BSIP 1976 (Hospital Pharmacy) and Erna C. Arollado, MS 199 (Research) received their respective awards as well.

Donors who gave generous amounts were recognized, including the Silver Jubilarians Class 1993, Classes 1981-1982, the Agcaoili Family and the Pharmacy Management Batch 2018.

